Sunday, March 23, 2014

Satyricon Concert with Special Guests

This Friday I went to a Satyricon concert at Rockefeller in Oslo. As some of you might know, I'm really into heavier types of music i.e. Black Metal, Death Metal, Heavy Metal etc. Satyricon is all the way at the top of bands I enjoy listening to, and they are truly awesome live. Sigurd "Satyr" Wongraven takes his music seriously, so the sound is always great and the band really gives it their all. This night was no exception.

The evening was started by Chrome Division, lead by Pål "Shady Blue" Mathiesen (Susperia) and Stian "Shagrath" Thoresen (Dimmu Borgir). They play something they call Doomsday Rock, and they really know how to get a party started. They're not a typical warm-up band for Satyricon, but I think they have a lot of energy and fun songs to listen to.

Shady Blue in action
I recorded one song from Chrome Division's concert. I actually got in trouble for recording this video, since I used the Sony's Music Recorder (HDR-MV1). I guess it looked a bit too professional. :-P

After a few songs, Chrome Division finished, and I stood just waiting for the night's main act.

Satyricon as a band consists of only Satyr and Kjetil Vidard "Frost" Haraldstad, but at concerts they are joined by Steinar "Azarak" Gundersen, Anders "Neddo" Odden, Diogo "Yogy" Bastos and Job Bos. About 6 months ago Satyricon played at the Norwegian Opera together with the Norwegian National Opera Chorus, which was a lot of fun. They filled the opera, and are making a live-DVD from the show.

This night they also had some special guests on stage. Snorre "Blackthorn" Ruch from Thorns, Nocturno Culto from Dark Throne, Sivert Høyem and the Trident Brass Ensemble.

At 22.00 the party started! Satyricon were in great shape, and played the crap out of their respective instruments. From where I stood the sound was great, and I really had a blast.

Satyr behind his Trident microphone stand

Somewhere behind there you will find Frost

The set-list of the night was as follows:
  1. Voice of Shadows 
  2. Hvite Krists Død 
  3. Now, Diabolical 
  4. Black Crow on a Tombstone 
  5. Our World, It Rumbles Tonight 
  6. Nekrohaven 
  7. Fuel for Hatred 
  8. Walker Upon the Wind 
  9. The Infinity of Time and Space 
  10. To the Mountains (with the Trident Brass Ensemble)
  11. The Pentagram Burns (with the Trident Brass Ensemble)
  12. Phoenix (Sivert Høyem on vocals)
  13. World Playground Deceit (Thorns cover) with Snorre Ruch
  14. Stellar Master Elite (Thorns cover) with Snorre Ruch
  15. Forhekset with Nocturno Culto
  16. Mother North (with the Trident Brass Ensemble and Nocturno Culto
  17. Encore: K.I.N.G. (with the Trident Brass Ensemble)

Satyr plays more guitar during his shows nowadays than before

Sivert Høyem used his fantastic voice on the song "Phoenix"

Satyr and Sivert Høyem dominating the scene

Snorre "Blackthorne" Ruch

Nocturno Culto

Azarak, Yogo, Nocturno Culto and Neddo

Today's Satyricon live line-up
One thing that separates Satyricon from other bands in the genre, is their ability to connect with the audience. They express their gratitude to the audience for being there, they celebrate and commend all of the guests on stage and they speak with the audience between songs. They give that little extra that many bands ignore.

Satyricon and special guests

All of the nights performers. 

All in all it was a great night, and Satyricon and guests really gave it their all. I give it a 10/10. \m/

Oh, and if you haven't worked out before a concert, jump into the moshpit!

No more excuses! Push push push!

No comments:

Post a Comment